Atom 6.5 Divinycell

Post photos and descriptions of your ongoing projects here. No project is too big or too small.
lsheaf
Master Varnisher
Boat Name: Stardust
Boat Type: Allied Seawind 30

Atom 6.5 Divinycell

Post by lsheaf »

Hey guys,

I started constructing the Atom 6.5 a few months ago and have worked on it intermittently since then. I have no previous experience building small dinghies so I made a lot of mistakes which I’ll share here as I upload.

The primary purpose of building the dinghy out of Divinycell was to eliminate the worry of wood rotting and to potentially save weight.

Materials: this is just what I ordered, not how much I actually used

2 sheets of 3/8” H80 Divinycell - Merrit Supply
5 gallon kit of West Systems epoxy
Colloidal silica thickening additive
20 yards of 9 oz fiberglass cloth
Roll of 3” wide fiberglass tape
Box of round tooth picks
Box of chip brushes
Stir sticks
lsheaf
Master Varnisher

Re: Atom 6.5 Divinycell

Post by lsheaf »

I started by tracing out all of the templates onto the sheets of Divinycell. Then cut them out with a sharp razor blade.

Since the stitch and glue method doesn’t work very well with foam, I decided tooth picks would be suffice for holding the main panels together while I tabbed all of the joints.

Once the main panels were tabbed together, I began laying fiberglass cloth on the inside and topsides. I also used toothpicks to hold the cloth tightly in place while fitting and trimming the cloth.

I then applied a generous amount of epoxy to the panel, placed the fiberglass, and wet out the cloth.

The biggest mistake I made during this layup was not removing enough excess resin between the foam and cloth (I used a fiberglass roller). It left lots of bumpy areas which now require additional fairing.

Lesson learned:
I discovered afterwards that the cheap yellow plastic spreaders are much more effective at removing excess resin that may get “stuck” under the cloth.
Attachments