Me and my Medalist

Post pictures of your boat and sailing adventures here. Posting instructions within.
fusto
Master Varnisher
Boat Name: Erebus
Boat Type: Apollo 16

Me and my Medalist

Post by fusto »

Hey all,
Just thought I'd give myself and my boat a proper introduction.

First me: I'm a mechanic/rigger/marine electrician at a local boatyard here in Bellingham Washington. Bellingham is North of Seattle, just south of Vancouver Canada. Bellingham is known as "The gateway to the San Juan Islands". In fact I live on one of the lesser San Juans, Lummi Island.
But I'm really from the Northeast. The wife and I are here just for a change.
I grew up in NYC and spent my early teen years on Cape Cod. Went to High School in Andover NH, and college in Bennington VT. Worked in the tech industry in Boston for 5 years and got fed up with sitting in a cubicle. We sold the house and spent some time hanging out on the Cape. Spent a couple of months sailing to Hawaii from CA. and around the islands for a bit (with some friends on a 55 foot Bruce Roberts steel ketch. My avatar is me on top of Mauna Loa looking at the sun.), then came back home to Cape Cod. Took the Marine Systems course at The Landing School in Kennebunk, ME and lived in Portland for a while.
One day we decided to see what it was like to live on the West Coast. Packed up our house plants and cat and moved out here. That was about 2.5 years ago. Been working in the boatyard since we got here and love it.

When I started working at the boatyard my soon to be mine Medalist was already in residence and had been up for sale for awhile. The owners live in Montana and were very difficult to contact. They also owed a lot of money to the boatyard for storage. After looking at the boat every day for about a year I tried contacting them. I got them and made an offer. They took it and the boat was mine. Suffice to say they were sad to see her go but also very happy to be done with it.