Rudder

This is the place for information specifically regarding the Pearson Triton.
Ron
Bottom Paint Application Technician
Boat Name: Sloopy
Boat Type: Triton 28

Rudder

Post by Ron »

I pulled my rudder off and only had a tape measure to measure the shaft size. It look like it about 15/16 am I reading that correct form those that have replaced there’s before? I looked in mcmasters catalog and there is stainless shaft available in 15/16 6 ft lengths. I’ll need another foot or so added to that to make it all the way down to the bottom of the false keel. Looks like on the pics of the rudders that people have built on here have the stainless straps that wrap around the shaft and on to the plywood rudder would that be a good spot to weld the two pieces together for adding the extra length shaft together? Your thoughts? Would be greatly appreciated
I’m not very good at explaining things in writing but maybe Yao all can make some since out if this post question
Ron

Re: Rudder

Post by Ron »

I found an older post that James confirmed that Tritons have an 1” rudder shaft thanks.
atomvoyager
Moderator | Revitalizer of Classics
Boat Name: Atom
Boat Type: Pearson Triton

Post by atomvoyager »

Straps that bend around the rudder seem like they'd be strongest, followed by straps welded outside in pairs. The weakest is a single strap welded on the inside centerline. Outside straps mean the rudder is more easily installed and replaced later. It would help with drags turbulence and ease of cleaning bottom growth if you set the straps flush but that weakens the attachment somewhat. Even so, when I redo my rudder I will either use outside flush straps or inside straps. It you put them inside you can add as many as you want so that it becomes just as strong. Depending on where the boat is sitting you would need to dig a hole for clearance to install/remove a pre-made rudder in order to get the top of the shaft to clear the shaft hole in the hull.
Ron

Post by Ron »