ePaint EP-ZO

Talk about favorite or hated suppliers, recommend good materials or sources, or anything of the same ilk. This is also a good place to suggest unique ideas and innovations you may have come up with.
Bluenose
Candidate for Boat-Obsession Medal
Boat Name: Bolero
Boat Type: Modified Shields One Design

ePaint EP-ZO

Post by Bluenose »

I have been using ePaint products for the last 4 or 5 years and have generally been pretty happy with them. Occasionally I have been asked about my experiences with their products and haven't been able to provide much useful info since my sailing seasons has often been variable and short.

But this was a full season for Bolero using ePaint's EP-ZO white bottom paint. We launch on May 6th and hauled out on October 24th.

The short summary is that this is the worst looking bottom paint during haul out that I have had seen since I started been using ePaint.

Here is the condition of Bolero's bottom paint before launching.

And here are the unwashed photos during haul out.

This brown slime washed off quickly and easily without much effort.

And a small detour off topic to show the light of the day results of my Yellow Island reef exploration.

I have to confess that I had hoped for better results from a full season with ePaint. I do know that there are a couple of caveats for this season. ePaint is a pretty thin paint and I find it hard to get a good coverage. In addition each season Bolero seems to get not quite enough bottom paint to cover and form a thick base.

That said, I am committed to continuing with this product. First I drawn to the idea of trying to use a more benign bottom paint and I also quite like having a white bottom.

I hope this provides some useful info for anyone who has been curious about ePaint.

Cheers,
Bill
Tim
Shipwright Extraordinaire
Boat Name: Glissando
Boat Type: Pearson Triton

Re: ePaint EP-ZO

Post by Tim »