Hull to Deck Joint - “Coffee Can” Type - 1973 Havsfidra 20 Heavy Double-Ender

Post your comments and thoughts about any and all classic sailboats here.
Martin_T
Bottom Sanding Grunt
Boat Name: PIPPI
Boat Type: Fisksatra Havsfidra 6m dbl-end

Hull to Deck Joint - “Coffee Can” Type - 1973 Havsfidra 20 Heavy Double-Ender

Post by Martin_T »

Hello friends,

This is my first post here and I’m looking forward to posting more often about my new ‘old boat’ project, so any advice and opinions are welcomed. I am not a newbie at refitting, as working alone on my old Rawson 30, she got a new diesel install, built-from-scratch mast, new rigging, bowsprit, and rudder, did complete a seven-year circumnavigation without any serious mishaps along the way. But, at the age of 75, I must admit, everything takes a bit longer these days, and a smaller boat is more to my liking now. However, described below is an area that I feel I AM new at; rebuilding the "Coffee Can" style hull-to-deck joint, which I have never encountered. From what I’ve read they never caught on due to their complexity in the molding-making process, and other methods came into play that were better. Still…I’m stuck with what I got...

Last year I acquired a 1973 Swedish-built Fisksatra Havsfidra 20’. She’s a heavy displacement double-ender, which I found here on the West Coast of the U.S. I had planned to be further along in the project by now but as they say; “life is what happens while you are making other plans”. So I am finally beginning the refit/restoration, and I am beginning with the hull-to-deck joint.