inspection of chainplates

This is the place to post your ideas, thoughts, questions and comments as relates to general boatbuilding and reconstruction techniques and procedures (i.e. recoring, epoxy, fiberglass, wood, etc.)
comet
Bottom Sanding Grunt
Boat Name: Nautical Fiction
Boat Type: Seafarer 26

inspection of chainplates

Post by comet »

I am new to fiberglass. My other sailboats have been wood, small, and cheap to fix. My new boat falls into the category discussed on this forum I think. It's a 1973 Seafarer 26.

My question is how can I inspect the chainplates if they are under the deck and behind the interior liner? Is it really something I should view as worth cutting into the liner for?

thanks for your help.

Comet
Surveyor
Rough Carpentry Apprentice
Boat Type: Alberg 30 #329

Re: inspection of chainplates

Post by Surveyor »

Yes it is definitely worth cutting the liner to inspect. Imagine what could happen if one of them were to fail while under sail with your family or friends aboard.
Rachel
Master of the Arcane

Post by Rachel »

To my mind it's a decision you have to make after considering all the factors. Of course the "best" thing to do would be to inspect any chainplates. But then, on the other hand, if everyone did all the "best" things there would be a lot of project boats and few people out sailing.

What sort of life has the boat had? 25 years in a barn? Sailed on inland lakes only? Raced in salt water and put away wet? How does the craftsmanship on other things look?

Okay, now having started out like it was an option, I have to say that I would have to inspect them before I could enjoy sailing. But that's just me. On the other hand, you've brought it up, which means you are thinking about them too. And boats and hardware/metal being what they are, there's no way for anyone here to definitively say "oh no, they will be fine." Basically, you're stuck inspecting them now or you will never be able to stop thinking about it ;)