Protrusion on topsides

This is the place to post your ideas, thoughts, questions and comments as relates to general boatbuilding and reconstruction techniques and procedures (i.e. recoring, epoxy, fiberglass, wood, etc.)
Homer
Deck Grunge Scrubber
Boat Name: Yankee
Boat Type: Hinckley 38

Protrusion on topsides

Post by Homer »

I would welcome advice from this august forum on a repair with which I have no experience. A protrusion (about 70 sq in) developed on Yankee's topsides a couple of feet down from the rail sometime after slamming into a piling during Hurricane Ike. I assume it is due to impact, but cannot be certain. I did not notice it until months later. The exterior skin is not fractured and there is no internal damage. The topsides are balsa cored. I have not drilled into the thing (pencil mark defines perimeter in the photo). Tapping reveals precious little difference in sound, not at all like delamination in the deck due to water infiltration. I know that sound. How shall I proceed to investigate and repair? I would not think that the prominently convex skin can be forced back down and reglued, but I could also be wrong about this. Would it be proper to simply cut out the protruding skin, taper the sound edges, and build up a typical patch with epoxy and cloth and then fair it out? Of course, patching would occur only after any invisible damage was repaired. This is not on my immediate "to do" list, but the thing is puzzling. Has anyone seen this sort of thing before? Thanks.
Attachments
DSCN0474.JPG
DSCN0474.JPG (26.75 KiB) Viewed 2348 times
One Way David
Skilled Systems Installer
Boat Type: Pearson Ensign

Re: Protrusion on topsides

Post by One Way David »