Epoxy question

Ask a question...get an answer (or two).
JohnD
Deck Grunge Scrubber
Boat Name: undecided
Boat Type: Pearson Triton EC #234

Epoxy question

Post by JohnD »

I am in the process of building a new icebox for my Triton. I have all the insulation in as well as some 1/4" plywood over it for some support. Once done with the epoxy work I will be laying down some fiberglass on top of this and then painting it. Yesterday I coated the wood with some epoxy, but looking at it today I seem to have missed a couple of spots, and not done nearly as well as I hoped for rounding out the edges.

My question is, do I need to sand down this coat before adding another layer, or can I just put down another coat in a day or two?

As you can probably tell, this is my first time working with epoxy. I feel a little silly asking something that is more than likely very obvious to you guys. Complete newbie to the boat thing here so please bear with me.
Rachel
Master of the Arcane

Re: Epoxy question

Post by Rachel »

Hi John,

Much better to ask than to forge ahead and possibly have a failure that is a pain to deal with! I use epoxy reasonably often, but it's still infrequently enough that I find my self referring back to written literature, or searching here to review a step or two.

Basically, you have a window in which you can make a chemical (primary) bond, and as long as you are in that window you can just put more on top of what you have. This is also called the "green stage." Once that window has closed, you have to let it fully cure, remove any amine blush, sand for tooth, clean/de-dust, and then you can put more on (this time it is a mechanical, or secondary bond).