heat shield

Ask a question...get an answer (or two).
windrose
Candidate for Boat-Obsession Medal

heat shield

Post by windrose »

Hey Guys, just found you off the boat building ring. I'm rehabbing #215 and was wondering if anybody has tried this stuff as a head liner or redoing their ice box. Any comments?
www.heatshieldmarine.com
s/v Wind-rose
Pearson Triton #215
West River, Chesapeake Bay
Tim
Shipwright Extraordinaire
Boat Name: Glissando
Boat Type: Pearson Triton

Post by Tim »

Welcome to the forum!

I've seen that Heat Sheild stuff before, and they certainly make some persuasive claims, but I have no practical experience or knowledge about it. I could see how it would be nice if it truly reflects the energy the way it says, especially on areas with hotter sun. What would be the ultimate would be to have a layer of that stuff sandwiched out of sight between the cabin liner and the deck. How would you plan to install it on the cabin trunk?

Whether or not it's worth it on an icebox is something else. I had good luck with 4" of polyisocyanurate foam (foil-faced), straight from the home center. It's something like R 7.2 per inch. Perhaps the Heat Shield is better because if could take up less room for the same insulating qualities (but for 10X the price per sheet--yikes)? It's not too tough to find room for 4" of foam in a new icebox build, and it works great.
---------------------------------------------------
Forum Founder--No Longer Participating
windrose

Post by windrose »

Tim, first off I want to thank you for a first rate job of documenting Glissando's rehab.... I have spent many hours pouring over your site. It always stirs me into some sort of action (along with Ray's Pegasas project). WOW!