Marelon Seacocks

Ask a question...get an answer (or two).
Tony
Skilled Systems Installer
Boat Name: S/V Bonnie Blue
Boat Type: Catalina 22

Marelon Seacocks

Post by Tony »

Howdy Y'all,

What is your opinion of Marelon as a material for seacocks and thru-halls? I used to work in the plastics industry, so I am semi-familiar with how many different plastics are out there, and I know there are many that are extremely strong and will withstand high temp, chem exposure, etc. Is this one of them? I haven't been able to find specs for the material anywhere. Would you feel safe using a Marelon seacock for a raw water intake in the engine room, exposted to normal engine room temperatures?

Thanks a bunch!
Tony
Tim
Shipwright Extraordinaire
Boat Name: Glissando
Boat Type: Pearson Triton

Post by Tim »

Forespar Marelon seacocks are designed to be used in any application where you might use bronze. I'm not aware of any limitations on their use. They are a glass-reinforced plastic that surely uses proprietary composition and construction.

Marelon valves and fittings are frequently found in engine rooms. I would feel comfortable in this installation. I actually purchased Marelon fittings for my boat originally, but decided to switch to bronze because the Marelon seacocks were overly bulky for the tight space beneath my cockpit, and I wanted consistency throughout the boat. The bronze valves were lower profile, so I went that route at each location.

Be sure to use only Marelon through hull fittings if choosing Marelon valves; likewise, use only bronze fittings with bronze valves.

Have you checked with Forespar itself for specs on the material? Since they're the only manufacturer, that would be the place to check. I didn't see any particularly useful info on their website, but there is contact information. www.forespar.com
---------------------------------------------------
Forum Founder--No Longer Participating
Figment
Damned Because It's All Connected
Boat Name: Triton