Wet suits, hacksaws, etc.

Post your sailing and cruising tips, stories, and ideas here.
George ( C&C 40 )
Skilled Systems Installer

Wet suits, hacksaws, etc.

Post by George ( C&C 40 ) »

Hi All,

This one's for the Maine sailors...

I have scuba gear for cleaning the race boat during the season and was wondering if it's worth bringing the full gear to Maine to deal with lobster pots. Or, is a wet suit, fins, and a weight belt good enough to clear lines wrapped around a prop. In seven years of sailing the Chesapeake I've managed to never catch a crab pot so I have no experience cutting away wrapped and melted line. Also, serrated blade or hacksaw for cutting away line on a prop shaft?

Thanks again,

George

P.S. We leave the morning of the 19'th and should be up in Maine around July 4'th.
dasein668
Boateg
Boat Name: Dasein
Boat Type: Pearson Triton 668

Post by dasein668 »

I guess it depends how comfortable you are diving under the boat, and whether you think you'll have trouble finding a place to stow your SCUBA. I'd say: if you've got it, and you've got room, bring it. If not, don't.

In any case you almost certainly won't need it. In about 15 years on the water in Maine I've fouled on lobster gear only twice, and never had one wrapped around the prop shaft. KNOCKS LOUDLY ON WOOD NOW.

Neither time did I have to go into the water to clear the warp.

I'm not familiar with the underbody of your C&C; you may be more prone to fouling than the boats I've sailed before.
dasein668
Boateg
Boat Name: Dasein
Boat Type: Pearson Triton 668

Post by dasein668 »

How long do you plan to be cruising in Maine? How far down the coast are you hoping to go? Will you be in the Portland area? Inquiring minds want to know!
Figment
Damned Because It's All Connected
Boat Name: Triton
Boat Type: Grand Banks 42

Post by Figment »

You have a stern ladder on your boat, right?

This is a maneuver I will remember for a long long time: