Looking for some rigging advice

Anything goes, as long as it falls under the general forum protocol and rules.
Gordon
Bottom Paint Application Technician
Boat Name: Amnesty
Boat Type: 45' custom Roberts design

Looking for some rigging advice

Post by Gordon »

I am a carpenter and never got involved with rigging in the boat shop, sort of wish I had now as I have a 45' sloop and it is time to rig her. If I hire a rigger it will get done properly but I still won't know how to fix things if they fail on a cruise. So against all the good advice I have recieved I am going to do the rigging myself and am looking for helpful advice from seasoned sailors. there is a long story behind this, the local paper did an article about it. Good advice will be appreciated.

Thank you
http://www.capecodonline.com/apps/pbcs. ... lAFriend=1

Update: Thank you for the valued advice, I may be determined (perhaps stubborn) but I am trying to limit doing stupid things so I have been persuaded to have a real rigger put it togather.
Last edited by Gordon on Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
Skipper599
Candidate for Boat-Obsession Medal
Boat Name: "MACUSHLA"
Boat Type: Passage 24-30 Cutter

Re: Looking for some rigging advice

Post by Skipper599 »

... Hello Gordon.
... First, I would recommend at least two technical publications for your guidance:

... 1). Understanding RIGS and RIGGING (revised edition) by: Richard Henderson.

... 2). The Complete RIGGER'S APPRENTICE ... by: Brion Toss.

... These are a must in my books for anyone wanting to tackle this highly skilled job.
... Don't go cheap on the rig and, always ask for advice if you realise you're getting out of your depth.
I am: Bob of Wight.

s/v 'Ros Na Cosquin'
a 'Passage - 24'

There are good ships, there are wood ships, and these ships sail the sea

But the best ship, is friendship and may this always be! ... ... ... A prayer from Ireland.
BALANCE
Skilled Systems Installer

Post by BALANCE »