an introduction

This is the place to post your ideas, thoughts, questions and comments as relates to general boatbuilding and reconstruction techniques and procedures (i.e. recoring, epoxy, fiberglass, wood, etc.)
CharlieJ
Wood Whisperer

an introduction

Post by CharlieJ »

Howdy folks. My name is Charlie Jones. Rachel talked me into registering here, after she introduced me to the site when she visited us a few weeks ago.

We live outside Port Lavaca Texas, close to the shores of Matagorda Bay, in a small community called Magnolia Beach. I'm a woodworker and wooden boat builder by trade. You can see SOME of the stuff I've built at www.Harmonyboatworks.com. I've built boats from the 6'6" dink in the last picture here, up to a 35 foot Cross trimaran.

My wife Laura is an enthusiastic sailor, inshore and off, and makes her living as an artist. You can get an idea of her work from her site- www.griffithart.com

We have recently completed a total restoration of a 1961 dutch built Rhodes Meridian 25. Don't have a website set up for our rebuild as yet, but here's a few pics showing before and after. The rebuild took us 18 months. Should have taken less time but I was finishing a B and B Yacht design Princess 22 for a customer that was delivered last October so that kinda cut into our own boat work time.

AS she was found in a boatyard in Rochester New York, 3 days before they were going to chain saw her-

After our rebuild

Under sail in Matagorda Bay, July 3rd this year.

Laura did all the brightwork varnishing AND also did all the installation.

I hope I can add something to these forums, even if we DON"T sail a Triton:)
Tim
Shipwright Extraordinaire
Boat Name: Glissando
Boat Type: Pearson Triton

Post by Tim »

Charlie,

Welcome! Nice work on Tehani. I am acquainted (online, that is) with the previous owner of your boat in NY, and I'm sure he must be pleased to know that she went to such capable hands.

Glad to see another derelict saved from an unsavory fate.