Genoa Track

This is the place to post your ideas, thoughts, questions and comments as relates to general boatbuilding and reconstruction techniques and procedures (i.e. recoring, epoxy, fiberglass, wood, etc.)
RobA

Genoa Track

Post by RobA »

When the deck was recored 4 years ago the genoa track never made it back onto the boat i purchased. The current setup is 2 blocks shackled to the a padeye (the lifelines end about midship and tie into this pad eye.)

I guess it works but I'd like to be able to get proper sail trim and put things back the way intended.

The deck was supposedly recored with kledgecell. I looked at the track install section of this site, but I am looking for more details. What do i need to do to prevent leaks into the deck, assuming this area probally didn't get reinforced during the coring is there something I should do now?

Again, i'm new to boats and lack knowledge for installing such things. Any kind of walk through would be excellent. As well as choosing the right gear, and proper placement.

Rob
Tim
Shipwright Extraordinaire
Boat Name: Glissando
Boat Type: Pearson Triton

Post by Tim »

The best way to install the track, and prevent possible leakage into the core material (regardless of what it is), is as follows:

1. Locate the track on the deck. Exact placement depends on the current sheet lead, and what size sails you intend to use. Just be sure that it is placed so that all sails' leads can be led properly to the track.

2. Drill small pilot holes at each bolt location, it will be best if you drill only through the top skin and barely into the core. Remove track. It's not a bad idea to mask off the whole area for later steps.

3. Enlarge (overbore) the holes using about a 3/8" or 1/2" bit. Drill just through the top skin and into the core, not all the way through the deck. This will remove the coring in a larger area around the future fastener location.